- 1 How do I get a distilling license in Florida?
- 2 Is it legal to own a moonshine still in Florida?
- 3 What is the penalty for making moonshine in Florida?
- 4 Can you distill liquor in Florida?
- 5 Is homemade moonshine illegal?
- 6 Can you make your own beer in Florida?
- 7 What states moonshine legal?
- 8 What proof is moonshine?
- 9 Is a still legal in Florida?
- 10 Can I distill my own whiskey?
- 11 How much distilled spirits can I make?
- 12 What is moonshine made of?
- 13 Is wine making legal in Florida?
- 14 Why is moonshine illegal?
- 15 How do you make moonshine at home?
How do I get a distilling license in Florida?
How to get a distillery license: the DBPR ABT 6001. The ABT 6001, or the Application for New Alcoholic Beverage License (DBPR Form ABT-6001), is the form you file for a DD license or ERB license.
Is it legal to own a moonshine still in Florida?
In Florida, possession of moonshine is illegal and may lead to criminal charges. According to section 562.451 of Florida Statutes, anyone who possesses moonshine, or liquor not made or manufactured in compliance with Florida law, may be guilty of a misdemeanor or felony.
What is the penalty for making moonshine in Florida?
The penalty for selling moonshine in Florida is roughly the same as the penalty for possession. If sold without a license, you’re looking at a $100 fine for not registering and not paying the license fee. If the liquor exceeds 153 proof, the fine is an additional $1,000.
Can you distill liquor in Florida?
Is It Legal to Make My Own Liquor in Florida? The short answer? No. In the state of Florida, it is not legal to produce distilled beverages within the home, even for personal consumption, unless the individual has the proper license.
Is homemade moonshine illegal?
Making moonshine also poses obvious risks of fire or explosion. Laws against moonshine may place those who wish to make their own line of commercial brandy or other spirit in a tricky situation. But federal law trumps state law, and to the feds, distilling at home for personal consumption is illegal, period.
Can you make your own beer in Florida?
To brew, you need a Florida CMB or CMPB License Brewers in Florida who want to make beer and sell it must have a CMB license or CMBP license. The CMB license or CMBP is issued by the Florida Division of Alcohol Beverage and Tobacco (ABT), a division of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
What states moonshine legal?
However, distilling alcohol at home, even for personal use, is illegal under federal law. In 2010, legal moonshine stills opened in some parts of the south, including South Carolina, Kentucky, Georgia, and Alabama. These produced legal moonshine for sale and distribution.
What proof is moonshine?
In the United States alcohol proof is twice the percentage of alcohol by volume. This means your average bottle of 40% ABV moonshine will be 80 proof.
Is a still legal in Florida?
State Overview state laws It is safe to say that it is not legal to own a still or anything that resembles a still in any way besides with a permit to produce and sell spirits.
Can I distill my own whiskey?
Distilling in California is illegal, even if it would be federally legal.
How much distilled spirits can I make?
It is perfectly legal to own a still larger than 1 gallon so long as it is not being used to distill alcohol or it is permitted to be used for distilling fuel alcohol or spirits.
What is moonshine made of?
With that being said, Moonshine, traditionally, is a non-aged spirit distilled from a combination of fermented sugar and grain. Unlike a whiskey, moonshine typically uses sugar to help the fermentation, while whiskies use 100% grain.
Is wine making legal in Florida?
The Legal Aspect In 1979 the Federal government and the State of Florida waived the requirement for obtaining a permit for home winemaking. There is still a legal limit of 200 gallons of wine per year for the head of a household or 100 gal/yr for a single individual over the legal drinking age (19 years in Florida ).
Why is moonshine illegal?
So why is moonshine still illegal? Because the liquor is worth more to the government than beer or wine. In 2005, almost $5 billion of federal excise taxes on alcohol came from legally produced spirits. Until 1978, it was illegal to home-brew liquour or beer—and the rules on wine-making were somewhat ambiguous.
How do you make moonshine at home?
- Place your mash pot on its heat source and pour in 5 gallons of water.
- Heat water to 165 °F.
- Turn off heat source when you reach 165 °F and immediately stir in 8.5 pounds of Flaked Corn Maize.
- Stir mixture continuously for 7 minutes.